Spider-Man: Far from Home: The third “Spider-Man 2” we have had in 15 years

Spider-Man was my favorite superhero growing up, so I always expect a lot from movie starring him. The original line of Spider-Man films are fond memories, The Amazing Spider-Man movies are not. The current Spider-Man series has been a lot of fun, I enjoy seeing the web-head interact with the other Marvel heroes and to see him portrayed by an actual teenager (at the start anyway). Since Far from Home is the first movie to star my favorite Spider-Man villain, Mysterio, I was very excited to see it. So how was it? It’s fine.

 

Tom Holland as Spider-Man is fun and is spot on for the character. Zendaya as this new version of MJ (they won’t call her Mary-Jane, but come on, we all know that’s who she is) does her character really well, and she is at her best when she is in the middle of a weak moment. Together, they make very good on-screen chemistry, and I like them together. Jake Gyllenhal as Mysterio/Glenn Beck is a perfect fit, and I loved seeing him come to life on screen.

 

The special effects and cinematography were very good, particularly the Mysterio fight scenes. The music was above par for these kinds of movies, it actually stood out to me, which is great. Production design was fantastic, as was the majority of the acting, the one detractor from that being JB Smooth as Peter Parker’s lazy science teacher.

 

All and all Far from Home is not a ground-breaking film in any respect, but it is well made and well done. It is not as good as Into the Spider-Verse, but it is better than the Amazing Spider-Man film series and better than Sam Raimi’s Spider-Man 3. I recommend it for all Spidey fans and all movie goers. 7/10.

Leave a comment